Immigration U-turn for Australian woman in UK

February 24, 2011 § Leave a comment

AN Australian publisher has escaped deportation after the Home Office had a change of heart. Vaarunika Dharmapala, 33, had been denied a visa under the Government’s new immigration cap, because she earns less than £36,000 a year. But hours later the publisher received a call from a civil servant to say the original decision had been quashed. Bosses at her Oxford firm, Raintree, have now received a certificate of sponsorship, allowing Ms Dharmapala to upgrade her work visa. She said: “I feel numb right now. Staff at Nicola Blackwood’s office, my constituency MP, contacted the Home Office on my behalf and I later got the phone call telling me the good news. “The intervention of the Oxford Mail really helped my case and I’m very grateful for all the coverage. “It’s a brilliant result and I’m delighted I will be able to stay living and working in Oxford.” In June, the new coalition Government unveiled plans for a cap on migrant workers. (Oxford Mail)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Immigration U-turn for Australian woman in UK at Harlan York and Associates Immigration Lawyer Team 973.642.1111.

meta

