an Illegal Alien in France

October 31, 2010 § 3 Comments

(NPR) During these days of crackdowns and deportations, I had some of my own immigration problems. For reasons that I won’t bother going into, my visa expired, and I became illegal. Because of the lapse, I had to start over again in applying for my permit to live in France. And that’s how I found myself, one sunny October afternoon, in a room full of foreigners at the Paris prefecture of police. I looked around the room at the sampling of people from across the globe. A Russian mother shushed her sassy toddler. A couple from Southeast Asia hugged a cooing baby. To get this far, we had all provided a slew of paperwork — including birth certificates, school diplomas, job contracts and apartment leases. After a cheery welcome, we were shown a film about French life, full of happy citizens and beauty shots of the French countryside. We learned the principals of liberty, egality, fraternity and secularism. One scene showed women working. “In France, women don’t need permission from husbands, fathers or brothers to work — or do anything else,” the narrator reminded us. Many of the personnel who processed us were immigrants themselves. I was led into a small office where a cheerful-faced woman held my file in her hand. “We’re the same age,” she told me. Looking at my birth certificate, she asked if Madison, Wis., was the Madison from The Bridges of Madison County. We were soon talking about how much we had both cried watching the movie. The immigration officer, whose name was Victoria, told me she had met a Frenchman in her native China 20 years ago. She, too, was raising children in an adopted land. France accepts the highest number of asylum-seekers after the U.S., and a quarter of French citizens have a foreign-born parent or grandparent, just like President Sarkozy. Newcomers must learn French and are obliged to sign a contract swearing they’ll uphold the values of the French Republic. Immigrants can be required to take instruction in certain topics. For those whose language skills are lacking, the state pays for 280 hours of French classes — not a bad deal! The one course no one gets out of is a full day learning about French civics. Mine is in November, and this being France, a hot lunch is included.

§ 3 Responses to an Illegal Alien in France

  • travelingmad says:

    Wow. Great blog. I may be checking in on you again in a year or two when my visa expires!
    Although I complain about France everyday, I don’t think I’m leaving any time soon. It is a tough adjustment moving to a foreign land but I am up for this enormous challenge.
    Another beautiful day in Paris and I’m blogging (lol). I gotta get out of here.

    Bonne Chance!

  • Clever says:

    Aren’t you scared that someone will figure out that your visa was already expired? I worked abroad before, just once and I’d never try it again. Unlike yours, I decided to go back to my country before my visa expired.

  • Laurence says:

    French really have a different culture. They give woman the opportunity to work compared in the Philippines way back 1940’s. Woman only did household chores and just played the role of being a mother and a loving wife.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading an Illegal Alien in France at Harlan York and Associates Immigration Lawyer Team 973.642.1111.

meta

