Illegals don’t pay taxes? Nonsense. WE see them everyday. They file their returns every year.

August 8, 2010 § 1 Comment

(CBS) In the heat of the Arizona summer, America’s long-simmering immigration debate is boiling over. While protestors take to the streets, the state and federal governments are fighting in court over who can write and enforce immigration law. When Arizona Governor Jan Brewer signed the state’s tough new immigration law in April, she said it was needed because of Washington’s failures. She was angered by the court decision that – temporarily at least – blocked major parts of the law. “Now they’ve got this temporary injunction, they need to step up, the feds do, and do the job they have the responsibility to do for the people of America and the people of Arizona,” Brewer said. Former Arizona Governor Janet Napolitano now has responsibility for securing the border as Secretary of Homeland Security. “There’s frustration out there,” she said. “I think there’s a misconception that securing the border means sealing the border. And anyone who has been on the border knows that that’s just a physical impossibility among other things. You don’t seal the border, but you secure the border.” Securing the border was Harold Beasley’s job for more than three decades. Now retired in Arizona, the current battle has him talking about putting his uniform on again. “Why don’t you just give it a try – bring me out of retirement and give me 200 Border Patrol agents and I’ll show you how many people I can deport in a couple of months,” Beasley said. “You know, it’s a hard job, but you can do it.”If the immigration debate means a lot to Harold Beasley, it means everything to 23-year-old Hermann. He’s an undocumented immigrant we met at a church gathering. He was brought here by his family when he was 15, “and I completely fell in love with the country. I felt, you know, there’s so many opportunities. There’s so many things you can do here. I want to stay. I want to, you know, be someone. I want to go to school, be the best I can be.” Beasley said, “I see people in my hometown of Phoenix, Ariz., now demonstrating, carrying signs, saying that I owe them something. I owe them rights. I owe them, you know, welfare. I owe them this and I owe them that. For eight years, I’ve been in the shadows,” he said. “It’s been to a point where you’re almost paranoid, walking around. But I think it’s now or never. You gotta say what you gotta say.” Hermann’s family came from Venezuela on tourist visas but never left. He went to high school, and then college. “And I worked full time while I was at school, always 40 hours,” Hermann said. “Actually, my senior year, all throughout the year, I worked at nights, delivering newspapers.” The day of his college graduation he was awarded not one degree, but two: Bachelor of Science in Business Administration, Magna cum laude; and Bachelor of Arts in Psychology, Magna cum laude as well. It’s often said illegal immigrants don’t pay taxes. Hermann does pay taxes, and showed me his returns. He doesn’t have a Social Security number, but the IRS gives undocumented workers a special taxpayer number information that’s not shared with immigration authorities. “It’s funny how the system works, you know?” Hermann said. “They won’t give you that chance to work, but they do want you to pay those taxes.”

§ One Response to Illegals don’t pay taxes? Nonsense. WE see them everyday. They file their returns every year.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Illegals don’t pay taxes? Nonsense. WE see them everyday. They file their returns every year. at Harlan York and Associates Immigration Lawyer Team 973.642.1111.

meta

